Call for papers – WSE 2017

The 13th Annual Meeting of the Northern European Network for Wood Science and Engineering (WSE 2017) will take place on 28-29 September 2017 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Established in 2004, the Northern European Network for Wood Science & Engineering currently involves 10 partner countries. Beginning in Honne (N) in 2005,  successful annual meetings have subsequently been held in Stockholm (SE), Helsinki (FI), Riga (LV), Copenhagen (DK), Tallinn (EST), Oslo (N), Kaunas (LIT), Hannover (DE), Edinburgh (UK), Poznan (PL), and Riga (LV). During this period, the WSE platform has matured into an invaluable forum for researchers in all aspects of wood science and engineering to meet and share knowledge.

The conference will cover the following themes:
– Wood physics and mechanics
– Engineered wood products & composites
– Wood protection and modification, durability
– Application of wood based materials
– Wood engineering

Call for abstracts
We encourage scientists and engineers, in particular early stage researchers (students and PhD students) to submit papers that cover the meeting themes. Abstracts of the paper (max. 500 words) should be sent to the conference secretariat by email:
Please indicate whether you would like to give an oral presentation or to display a poster.
There is more information in the call for abstracts (pdf)

Templates for abstracts as well as for full paper available from the conference website:

01.07.2017 Submission of abstracts
15.07.2017 Registration
01.08.2017 Submission of full papers

The network is supported by funding from the “EFINORD – SNS Networks” scheme.  The aim is to promote North European synergies within forest research and to establish closer collaboration between forest research communities in the Nordic, Baltic Sea and the North Atlantic regions, preferably with a cross-disciplinary approach by networking, workshops, seminars and joint utilization of research facilities.

The networks in this scheme should cover topics within sustainable forest management of Nordic interest, including for example dissemination of research results or providing of research based policy advice for a sustainable future.  The countries involved are from the Nordic* area and the EFINORD area**.

(*) Nordic is defined here as Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden and the autonomous areas, Faroe Islands, Greenland, and Åland Islands. (**) Other countries in the EFINORD area is defined here as Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, NW Russia, Poland, Northern Germany, Northern UK, Ireland.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply