7th Annual Electric Vehicle Event Speakers – Air transport

Jeff Engler is cofounder of Wright Electric, an aviation company developing electric airplanes for short regional flights. Engler is a cofounder of Podimetrics, a medical device startup that aims to keep diabetic feet healthy. Previously, Engler co-founded MatchLend, a financial services startup. Engler worked for Unitus, a microfinance nonprofit, and Lehman Brothers. He has a BA in history from Columbia College and an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Simon Webb is Chief Engineer ‑ Propulsion at Fly Zero, Aerospace Technology Institute (UK). His background started at Rolls-Royce on a graduate scheme in 2001 followed by 6 x 3 month placements including in Montreal. In 2003 he started his first “proper” job in Combustion Engineering then moved to Fans Engineering in 2008. Fan lead on BR725 for Gulfstream G650 (USA+Germany). Fan lead on TrentXWB for Airbus A350. He took a secondment to Germany (RRD) in 2013 where he was Head of Fans and Compressors for small engines. In 2016 he was Chief of Technology for Fans and Compressors and responsible for developing new tech – like composite fan. He was appointed in 2021 as Fly Zero Chief Engineer – Propulsion which is a Government funded programme to explore green aviation options – such as battery or hydrogen powered flight.

Andreas Strohmayer Professor for Aircraft Design, University of Stuttgart; Chairman of the European Aeronautical Sciences Network Andreas has studied Aeronautical Engineering at TU Munich and graduated in 2001 to Dr.-Ing. in the field of conceptual aircraft design. He has over 13 years’ experience in industry, starting with 7 years as COO/managing director of Grob Aerospace in Mindelheim, Germany, where he was responsible for design, production and support of the Grob fleet of all-composite trainer aircraft and lead the development of a 4-seat aerobatic turboprop, a 7-seat turboprop and the SPn business jet. He then was Program Director for a 19-seater commuter aircraft project at Sky Aircraft in Metz, France, and VP Programs at SST Flugtechnik in Memmingen, Germany, setting up an EASA approved design organization that holds the TC for a 6-seat all-composite turboprop aircraft and performs aircraft conversions. Since 2015 Andreas is professor for aircraft design at the Institute of Aircraft Design at University of Stuttgart. His research focus is on electric and hybrid-electric flight, with the manned research platforms icaré 2 and e-Genius, and scaled UAS flight testing. In 2016 he joined the Board of Directors of the European Aeronautics Science Network (EASN), initially taking the role of Industrial Advisory Officer, and since 2019 as Chairman of the Board.

David Shaw is Non Executive Director of the B-N Group  

David, since 2007 has been the Technical Director of Britten-Norman Aircraft Limited, responsible for the technical aspects of aircraft manufacture, modification, test, and support of the Islander aircraft family. Recently moved to a Non Executive Director role within the Britten-Norman Group, advising the Main Board as the company expands its civil offering and to craft a new role as a Brand Ambassador within the engineering community.

Degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineerin