Research Innovation Enterprise

Edinburgh Napier Academic Awarded Leverhulme Trust Research Fellowship

Seven outstanding engineering researchers, including Dr Daniel Barreto of Edinburgh Napier University, have been awarded Leverhulme Trust Research Fellowship to support engineering research with benefits for society and economy.

The Royal Academy of Engineering has awarded its prestigious Leverhulme Trust Research Fellowships to seven outstanding engineering researchers working on a wide variety of engineering challenges, including Dr Daniel Barreto Gonzalez from Edinburgh Napier University.

Dr Barreto Gonzalez has been awarded his Fellowship for his work on statistical and machine learning approaches for the characterisation of soils. Further information available here >

The Fellowships, which are supported by the Leverhulme Trust, allow awardees to focus on full-time research for up to a year by covering the costs of a replacement academic to take over their teaching and administrative duties. This allows mid-career engineers to reinvigorate their research interests and also gives other junior academics the opportunity to gain valuable teaching and administrative experience by stepping in during the duration of the award.

Professor Anne Trefethen FREng, Chair of the RAEng / Leverhulme Trust Research Fellowships panel said:

“I am delighted to see such a wide range of research covered by this year’s awardees and that we’re able to support such outstanding individuals across the UK from Scotland to Southampton. These research projects have the potential to deliver substantial benefits to society and the economy and I hope our support will help them to be realised.”

The full list of 2023/24 RAEng/Leverhulme Trust Research Fellows is:

Dr Daniel Barreto Gonzalez, Edinburgh Napier University
Statistical and machine learning approaches for the characterisation of soils

Dr Emmanouil Benetos, Queen Mary University of London
Resource-efficient machine listening

Dr Kaveh Delfanazari, University of Glasgow
On-chip generation of coherent continuous and pulsed terahertz waves for future quantum communication systems

Dr Marlène Mengoni, University of Leeds
COMP-HA: Computational mechanobiology for treatment discovery in Haemophilic Arthropathy

Dr Muhammad Wakil Shahzad, University of Northumbria
Functionalised composite adsorbent material for industrial applications (FAM)

Dr Nada Yousif, University of Hertfordshire
Multi-level computational modelling for improving clinical outcome in treating tremor

Dr Jie Yuan, University of Southampton
Multi-scale friction interface design for resilient and sustainable dynamical systems

Read more about the 2023 – 2024 Awardees via the Royal Academy of Engineering website.